If Youre An outfielder And You Throw Your Glove up And It Catches?

Upload and start working with your PDF documents.
No downloads required

How To White out PDF Online?

Upload & Edit Your PDF Document
Save, Download, Print, and Share
Sign & Make It Legally Binding

Easy-to-use PDF software

review-platform review-platform review-platform review-platform review-platform

If you're an outfielder and you throw your glove up and it catches the ball and you catch the glove, is it an out?

To answer this question, we need to look up the definition of a catch in the rules. The rules define a catch as “the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it
” The rule goes on to say that “in establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball is voluntary and intentional.” Therefore, if a fielder catches the ball in his glove and his glove falls off with the ball in it, it would not be a legal catch, as the fielder would not be firmly holding the ball and the ball’s release from his possession not voluntary and intentional. So what happens next? Next we turn to Rule 5.06(b)(4)(A), which states that each runner, including the batter-runner, advance to home base if a fair ball goes out of the field in flight. But what does “in flight” mean? Let’s go back to the Definitions of Terms section of the rules, where we found the definition of a catch. “In flight” means a “batted, thrown, or pitched ball that has not touched the ground or some object other than a fielder.” OK. Great. All runners are awarded home. But is it a home run or an error? Let’s go to Rule 9.06(e). It states that when a batter-runner is awarded a home run under 5.06(b)(4), the batter-runner is to be credited with a home run. But wait, did the fielder commit an error when he lost the ball? On to Rule 9.12. It states that a fielder shall be charged with an error when the fielder’s “misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases
” So could the hit not be a home run but an error? Well, now we need to check under the scoring rule whether the hit qualifies as a hit. Rule 9.05(a)(2) states that it is a base hit if the batter reaches safely on a fair ball that is hit with such force that a fielder attempting to make a play can’t do so. I would say that a batted ball that takes a fielder’s glove off qualifies as a hit. Home run.

PDF documents can be cumbersome to edit, especially when you need to change the text or sign a form. However, working with PDFs is made beyond-easy and highly productive with the right tool.

How to White Out PDF with minimal effort on your side:

  1. Add the document you want to edit — choose any convenient way to do so.
  2. Type, replace, or delete text anywhere in your PDF.
  3. Improve your text’s clarity by annotating it: add sticky notes, comments, or text blogs; black out or highlight the text.
  4. Add fillable fields (name, date, signature, formulas, etc.) to collect information or signatures from the receiving parties quickly.
  5. Assign each field to a specific recipient and set the filling order as you White Out PDF.
  6. Prevent third parties from claiming credit for your document by adding a watermark.
  7. Password-protect your PDF with sensitive information.
  8. Notarize documents online or submit your reports.
  9. Save the completed document in any format you need.

The solution offers a vast space for experiments. Give it a try now and see for yourself. White Out PDF with ease and take advantage of the whole suite of editing features.

Customers love our service for intuitive functionality



46 votes

White out PDF: All You Need to Know

But if the first baseman catches the ball and throws it back up to the mound, the umpires and the pitcher can have the debate about whether the catcher was a threat to drop the ball on the mound. But even if that's happening, there would be no harm done — because the play would not have ended in injury. Catch the glove, catch the ball, no harm done.